Abrikosov award

Alexei A. Abrikosov (1928-2017)

The Nobel Laureate in Physics 2003
together with Vitaly L. Ginzburg and Anthony J. Leggett

The International Workshop on Vortex Matter in Superconductors is proud to award distinguished scientists for their contribution to the field of VORTEX PHYSICS with a prize in honor of Prof. Alexei A. Abrikosov.

The Abrikosov prize in Vortex Matter was initiated in 2011 to celebrate the centennial anniversary of the discovery of superconductivity. It was first awarded during the 2011 International Workshop in Vortex Matter in Chicago. Alexey Abrikosov has personally attended the inaugural award ceremony. 

Previous recipients are:

2011 Abrikosov prize – Prof. Peter Kes from Leiden University, the Netherlands

2013 Abrikosov prize – Prof. Francisco de la Cruz from the Atomic Institute in Bariloche, Argentina

2015 Abrikosov prize – was awarded jointly to Lev N. Bulaevskii, Alexei E. Koshelev and Masashi Tachiki

2017 Abrikosov prize – was awarded jointly to Johann W. Blatter, Valerii M. Vinokur, Mikhail V. Feigel’man and Vadim B. Geshkenbein

The laureates of the 2019 Abrikosov prize are Prof. Vladimir Kogan and Prof. Eli Zeldov, for their pioneering contributions to understanding vortices in high-Tc superconductors.